Click here to go to the main library page. Click here to go to the SDSU home page. Click here to go to the library home page. Click here to go to the Quick Search page. Click here to go to the library virtual tour. Click here to go to the library site index.

A

B

C

D

E

F

G

H

I

J

K

L

M

N

O

P

Q

R

S

T

U

V

W

Y

Z

Research Database Links and Information


Aberdeen American News (2001+)
This resource provides full-text articles from the Aberdeen community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.

Academic Search Premier (1975+)
The largest multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,600 scholarly publications, including full-text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals.  Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.  This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

AgeLine (1978+)
Ageline abstracts the literature of social gerontology as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences.  AgeLine is produced by AARP's Research Information Center.

AGRICOLA
This National Agricultural Library (NAL) database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields.  AGRICOLA is a bibliographic database consisting of literature citations and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.  The literature cited is primarily in English, but over one-third of the database comprises citations in Western European, Slavic, Asian and African languages.  Use the NAL Thesaurus to help determine the most effective search terminology.  In addition, the CAB Thesaurus (Info Desk Z695.1.A4T5 1995) is very useful for this purpose.

(Return to top)

Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts 
A free collection of public domain documents from American and English literature as well as Western philosophy.

American Chemical Society Publications 
The American Chemical Society--the world's largest scientific society--is a nonprofit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress and is a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related research through its multiple databases, peer-reviewed journals and scientific conferences.  The American Chemical Society Publications Division currently publishes 35 leading peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences, including the Journal of American Chemical Society, as well as Chemical & Engineering News, the Society's weekly news magazine.  

American Mathematical Society Journals
For access to the journals of the AMS that SDSU subscribes to, click on "View Your Subscriptions," then look for available issues directly underneath the titles of the journals.

America's News Magazines
America's News Magazines provides access to articles covering U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, science and technology from 27 familiar magazines including Entertainment Weekly, Essence, Fortune, Money, Newsweek, People Weekly, Popular Science, Real Simple, Time, Sports Illustrated, U.S. News & World Report, among others.  

Analytical Abstracts (1980+)
Analytical Abstracts covers 100 international journals and equipment application notes, standards and books.

Ancestry Library
(Not available from off-campus due to contract limitations.)  Based on the genealogical database of Ancestry.com, this ProQuest version provides access to more than 1.5 billion names in more than 4,000 databases.  It includes information from U.S. Censuses, immigration records, vital records, court records, church records, ethnic records, city directories, genealogical societies, Social Security Death Index, and other sources.

(Return to top)

Argus Leader (1999+)
This resource provides full-text articles from the Argus Leader, the Sioux Falls, SD newspaper.  Coverage includes local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.  Paid advertisements are excluded.

Argus Leader Index
An index to the contents of the Sioux Falls, SD, daily newspaper.

Arts & Humanities Search
A citation index to periodical articles in humanities publications.

ASTM Standards
(ASTM Workstation, Reference Area, Northeast of the Information Desk.)  Full-text downloads of current ASTM Standards are available only when the Information Desk is staffed.  Ask the librarian at the Information Desk to log on.

(Return to top)

Bartleby.com
A free site that provides access to verse, reference, fiction, and nonfiction works.

Biography/Genealogy Index
An index to biographical information about more than 16.9 million people.

Biological Abstracts (2000+)
A bibliographic life science database that provides selective coverage of over 5,000 international scientific journals, including cover-to-cover indexing of 1,800 journals.

Biological Sciences Database (1982+)
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.  Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, it provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.

(Return to top)

Biology Digest (1989+)
A compilation of abstracts and indexes of domestic and international literature in the area of life sciences.  It is primarily intended for an audience at the high school or undergraduate college level.  Its purpose is to aid in keeping students and instructors current on the latest developments in biological research.  Each of over 20,000 records contains an original abstract averaging about 325 words.  Key information such as methods involved and conclusions drawn from the respective research is retained.

Blackwell Synergy 
Provides electronic full text/image access to the more than 300 scholarly journals in many fields.

Books In Print
Provides bibliographic information, price and publisher information for books that are currently in pricing, i.e., available for purchase.  Selected entries include book reviews or brief descriptive annotations.  Books in Print is also available via the South Dakota Library Network.

Business Source Premier (1922+)
Provides full-text for more than 8,500 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full-text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.  Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.  This database provides full-text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals.  This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

CAB Abstracts
Provides worldwide coverage of literature in agriculture and related areas of applied biology, economics, and human environmental health.

(Return to top)

Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption
A database produced by the National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information and the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse.  Citations and abstracts are from books, journal articles, final reports from federally-funded grants, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs.

CIAO (1991+)
Designed to be a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.  It publishes a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.  It also includes journal and book abstracts, a schedule of events, policy briefs and economic indicators, links and resources, and maps and country data.

CINAHL 
A bibliographic database that covers most English language nursing journals and primary journals in more than a dozen allied health disciplines.  CINAHL is limited to 20 simultaneous users shared among 5 universities in South Dakota.

CIOS Journal Index System 
Searches the indexes of 21 key communication journals.

(Return to top)

The Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence-based research to inform healthcare decisions-making.  Published quarterly, it combines reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and results from the world's best medical research studies.

College Source Online
Provides information about colleges and universities in the United States, Canada, and many other countries.  It provides the full-text of many college catalogs.

Conference Papers Index (1982+)
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world.  Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older materials also covers physics, engineering and materials science.  Information is derived from final programs, abstracts, booklets and published proceedings, as well as from questionnaire responses.  Records include complete ordering information to obtain preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications derived from the conference, together with title and author information needed to track the specific papers.

(Return to top)

Contemporary Literary Criticisim Select
Using the InfoTrac interface, CLC Select provides internet access to extensive biographical and critical information about authors who are currently active or who died in recent years.  Search by author name, title, subject/theme, critics/critical source and other powerful search options.  Each CLC entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal works and sources for further study.

CQ User Resources
Provides an index to CQ Weekly Reports (Info Desk 328.73.C763) and CQ Researcher (Reference H 35.E3).

CQ Researcher (1923+)
CQ Researcher provides unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.  Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc.

CQ Weekly (1983+)
CQ Weekly is the largest news team on Capital Hill and it covers virtually every act of Congress, delivering nonpartisan news and analysis unavailable anywhere else.  Reports are published weekly by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc.

CSA Biological & Medical 
Provides access to these databases:  Agricola, Biological Sciences, Biology Digest, Medline, Plant Science, and Toxline.

(Return to top)

CSA Social Sciences 

Provides access to these databases:  EconLit, ERIC, National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts, Physical Education Index, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts and other databases are included.

Current Contents
The following subject areas are covered:  Agriculture, Biology, Environmental Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Clinical Medicine, Engineering, Computing & Technology, Life Sciences, Physical, Chemical and Earth Sciences, Social & Behavioral Sciences.  Contains the tables of contents and abstracts of articles from thousands of journals.

Discovering Collection
Use this comprehensive database to retrieve in-depth reference content for the core curriculum areas of Literature, History, Biographies, Science, and Social Studies.

Dissertation Abstracts International (1861+)
A database that provides a subject, title, and author guide to over 1.2 million doctoral dissertations and masters theses.

(Return to top)

Dissertations & Theses at South Dakota State University
Current research provides access to the full-text (PDF) of recent dissertations and theses completed at SDSU. When accessing, at the ProQuest page, click on the "Select Multiple Databases" link, then select the "Dissertations & Theses" databases.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
The Directory of Open Access Journals provides free, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.  DOAJ aims to cover all subjects and languages there are more than 1,500 journals in the directory.  Many DOAJ journals are searchable at the article level on the site.

E-Books from Science Direct
Covering a wide range of scientific disciplines, including those published under the renowned Pergamon and Academic Press imprints, these additional 4,000 books will be full integrated with the existing books and journals on ScieneDirect.  Over 50 books will be added each month.  These books include reference works, handbooks and book series.  To discover which books are available in specific subject areas, click on the subject.  To limit the list just to books remove the check in the box next to the journals on the left side of the page.  There is also access to a number of journals

EBSCO MegaFILE (1800s+)
A multi-disciplinary database providing full-text for nearly 12,000 total publications and indexing and abstracting for more than 16,000 publications.  Coverage spans every area of academic study and general interest subject areas and offers information .  In addition, the database contains more than 84,000 biographies, 86,000 primary source documents, 10,000 company profiles and an image collection of more than 107,000 photos, maps and flags.  MegaFILE is comprised of EBSCO's Academic Search Premiere, Business Source Premiere, MasterFILE Premiere, and Regional Business News databases.

(Return to top)

EBSCOhost 
Provides access to the following databases:  Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, CINAHL Plus with Full-Text, EBSCO MegaFILE, Inspec, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,  MLA International Bibliography, MasterFILE Premiere, Regional Business News and Teacher Reference Center.

EBSCOhost Electronic Journals
EBSCOHost Electronic Journals provides electronic access to the text of numerous scholarly journals and magazines.  Access is provided through keyboard searches of article titles, journal names, name of publisher, and tables of contents.

EconLit (1969+)
An index to articles in economics and related journals published by the American Economic Association.

Ei Compendex Web 
The premier engineering abstracts database.  Sources include journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports in all areas of engineering.

(Return to top)

Environmental Health Information Service
(EHIS)
(On-campus use only.  ID and password are required.)  The EHIS is a service of the National Institute  of Environmental Health Sciences (NIH) and the DHHS-National Toxicology Program.  This website provides access to the full-text of Environmental Health Perspectives.  Contact a reference librarian for more information and to obtain the password.

ERIC ERIC-CSA | ERIC-Web (1966+)
The premier national bibliographic database of educational literature.  The database includes journal articles and a large number of ERIC documents, which are research reports, conference papers, issue papers, or monographs relevant to most aspects of education.  The Educational Resources Information Center provides free web access to the ERIC database.

Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews
A definitive resource for electronic information in the evidence-based medicine movement (EBM) that combines The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, The Database of Abstracts of Reviews and Effectiveness (DARE), The American College of Physicians Journal Club, and Definitive Controlled Trials.

Fiction Connection
A product of Books in Print, Fiction Connection  helps users discover fiction titles similar to books they already enjoy.  Users may enter titles, authors, or topics to discover books they like.  Offers key information about titles including :  topic, genre, setting, character, location timeframe and multiple reviews.

FictionFinder
This prototype version of FictionFinder enables the user to search for works of fiction using a subset of the WorldCat database.  Over 2.5 million WorldCat records are included in the FictionFinder prototype database.  The user interface enables the user to search or browse by authors, titles, fiction categories, characters, settings and more.

(Return to top)

FirstSearch

Provides access to the following indexing, abstracting, and informational databases:  Arts & Humanities Search, Dissertation Abstracts Online, and Geobase.

Fish and Fisheries Worldwide (1971+)
Provides over 145,000 citations and abstracts for ichthyology, fisheries aquaculture and related facets of aquatic biology. This product includes FISHLIT and 11 other international databases. Prominent themes covered include culture and propagation of this and all aqua culture species, limnology and parasites, diseases, habitat management, fish processing or marketing and fisheries management.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

(Return to top)

GEOBASE
(1980+)
An index covering the worldwide literature on geology, geography, and ecology.

GPO Access
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to products produced by the Federal Government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. Information includes: A~Z Resource List, Federal Depository Library Program, Preservation Agreement with NARA, U.S. Government Online Bookstore, and Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government.

Grants
(Click on "Fun
ding Opportunities" under University Research.)  The SDSU Office of Research and Sponsored Programs makes these two databases available to the SDSU community.  They provide much information relevant to research and grants including the ability to search for funding opportunities matching specified criteria.

(Return to top)

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (1985+)
Health and Psychosocial Instruments database features material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such as pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation.

HeritageQuest Online
Provides a unique, growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture.  It provides a collection of over 25,000 family and local histories, and other significant genealogical content and data.  This database is made available courtesy of the South Dakota State Library.

(Return to top)

HighWire 

A division of the Stanford University Libraries, High Wire Press hosts the largest repository of high-impact, peer-reviewed content, with 1020 journals and 4,126,605 full-text articles from over 130 scholarly publishers. .

IEEE Xplore 
Provides full-text access to select IEEE periodicals.

Indian Country Today Index (1996-2003)
An index to the contents of this Native American weekly newspaper.  1996-2003 available online via the SDLN catalog.  Click on "Articles and Indexes" tab and then choose Indian Country today.  This database is made available courtesy of the South Dakota State Library.

InformaWorld
The leading provider of specialist information to the global academic and scientific, professional and commercial communities via publishing, events and performance improvement. Access is provided to the following publications:  all journals from Taylor & Francis, Routledge and Psychology Press, over 180 Informa Healthcare journals, selected encyclopedias (the former Dekker encyclopedia collection) from Taylor & Francis Informa Healthcare, all Taylor & Francis abstract databases and more than 10,000 eBooks from Taylor & Francis, Routledge and Informa Healthcare.

Informe (1994-February 2007)
A collection of hispanic magazines with full-text.  Coverage includes business, health, technology, culture, current topics and other subjects.  To access, click on link, scroll to the bottom of the screen and click on Informe link.

Ingenta 
A database indexing the contents of thousands of journals and magazines in a wide range of disciplines.  Full-text articles are available for a fee.

(Return to top)

Inspec

Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. First published in 1898 as the Scientific Abstracts, Inspec now contains close to 10 million bibliographic records taken from more than 3850 scientific and technical journals and 2200 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports, dissertations and patents, many with full-text linking.  With the introduction of the Inspec Archive, the Database now offers more than 100 years of coverage online, including 875,000 records published in the Science Abstracts between 1898 and 1968.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts 
Produced by the American Society of Health System Pharmacists, this is an essential bibliographic resource for pharmacy.  It covers about 750 pharmaceutical, medical and health-related journals.  It is useful for locating literature about biopharmaceutics, pharmacokinetics, drug delivery systems, and almost any topic relevant to pharmacists.

Internet Classics Archive
(This resource includes full text.)  Electronic versions of 400 works of classical literature by more than 50 different authors, including user-driven commentary and Websites.  Mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation. 

JSTOR 
Provides full text/image access to the back issues (ranging from 1-5 years ago in publication and prior) of more than 500 scholarly journals in various fields including: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Biological Sciences, Botany, Business, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, Health and General Sciences, History, Language and Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics.

(Return to top)

Junior Edition

(Formerly SuperTOM Junior)
This database was designed for schools to search magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture and health.

Junior Reference
A comprehensive, cross-curricular database for schools and libraries featuring current, relevant, organized, and easy-to-read information covering science, biographies, authors, multicultural topics, people and places.

Kid's Edition 
(Formerly PrimaryTOM) 
This database is designed for schools to search magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, etc.

Kid's InfoBits
Meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5.  It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

(Return to top)

Kinesiology Publications (2003+)

(Formerly Microform Publications of Human Movement Studies)
KinPubs archives and disseminates masters and doctoral dissertations on microfiche and provides full-text electronic access.

Learning Express Library
Provides online practice tests and tutorials designed to help library patrons, students and adult learners prepare for academic or licensing tests that must they must take.  It provides immediate test scoring, explanations of the answers to all questions, and the opportunity to take the tests and tutorials multiple times.  Student username (user's library barcode) and password (user's last name) required for access. 

LexisNexis Academic
Provides online access to full-text and bibliographic information from newspapers, news and business magazines, newsletters, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and biographical sources.

(Return to top)

LexisNexis Congressional 

Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information form Congressional Information Service, Inc.

LexisNexis Statistical  
An index to statistical data produced by the U.S. government; important international intergovernmental organizations; and knowledgeable professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.

Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

Lippincott Books
Books@Ovid includes Lippincott, Wilkins, and Williams Primary Care books; a collection of 24 books that includes Griffith's 5 Minute Clinical Consult, Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation, Primary Care Medicine: Office Evaluation and Management of the Adult Patient, Reichel's Care of the Elderly, and What to Order when.

(Return to top)

Lippincott Journals
 
Your Journals@Ovid includes Lippincott, Wilkins, and Williams Total Access-unlimited full-text access to 249 journals.

Maps - 3-D TopoQuads
(This CD-ROM is located in the Government Documents area, lower level, north of the Documents office.) 3-D topographical maps covering South Dakota.

MarciveWeb DOCS (July 1976+)
Provides citations to United States government publications.

MasterFILE Premier (1975+)
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full-text for more than 2,050 general reference publications with full-text information.  Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes more than 350 full-text reference books, 84,074 biographies, 86,132 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps, and flags.  This database is updated daily via ESBSOhost.

(Return to top)

MathSciNet 

The American Mathematical Society Mathematical reviews on the web offers access to reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Contains over 2 million items and over 700,000 direct links to original articles.

Medline CSA 
This National Library of Medicine bibliographic database indexes biomedical literature, including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.

MLA International Bibliography (1963+)
Indexes critical materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore from 1963 to the present.  SDSU access to MLA International Bibliography is limited to 2 simultaneous users.  The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full-text.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Contains summaries of more than 185,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.

(Return to top)

NetLibrary 

A collection of books in electronic format via the web.  Both nonfiction and fiction books are included.

NISC International BiblioLine
Provides access to the following databases:  Child Abuse, Child Welfare and Adoption, Fish & Fisheries Worldwide, and Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide.

Ovid 
Provides access to the following databases:  EBMR (Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews), HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments), Lippincot, Wilkins, and Williams Primary Care books (a collection of 24 books that includes Griffith's 5 Minute Clinical Consult, Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation, Primary Care Medicine:  Office Evaluation and Management of the Adult Patient, Reichel's Care of the Elderly, and What to Order When) and Lippincott, Wilkins, Williams Total Access-unlimited full-text access to 249 journals.

Ovid Books 
Includes Lippincott, Wilkins, and Williams Primary Pregnancy and Lactation, Primary Care Medicine:  Office Evaluation and Management of the Adult Patient, Reichel's Care of the Elderly, and What to Order When.

(Return to top)

Ovid Journals

Includes Lippincott, Wilkins, and Williams Total Access-unlimited full-text access to 249 journals.

Oxford Journals
The Oxford Journals online collection includes over 170 titles.  Some of the subjects covered include:  Life Sciences, Mathematics and Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities and Law. The benefit of utilizing the online version of the Oxford Journals is the ability to access finished manuscripts of journal before they are released in print.   

Physical Education Index (1970+)
A bibliographic database listing published material on a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology, health education and physical therapy.  Records are indexed and classified from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications.  Beginning in January 2001, the database includes abstracts, e-mail addresses, expanded publisher and author information, and other data to facilitate access to the published material.

Plant Science (1994+)
A bibliographical database produced by Elsevier Science.  It contains citations and abstracts of a scientific literature on scientific aspects of plant science, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology.  Over 250 primary research journals are scanned by specialized scientific editors to add approximately 23,000 titles to the database each year.  From July 1996 to the present, informative abstracts have been added when available.  The print equivalent of Plant Science is Current Advances in Plant Science.

Professional Collection  
A collection of 300 full-text periodicals for professional educators.

Project Gutenberg
Provides etexts of public domain books.  The collection includes the following three types of books:  Light Literature; such as Alice in Wonderland, Through the Looking-Glass, Peter Pan, Aesop's Fables, etc.  Heavy Literature; such as the Bible or other religious documents, Shakespeare, Moby Dick, Paradise Lost, etc.  Reference books; such as thesaurus, almanacs, and a set of encyclopedia, dictionaries, etc.

(Return to top)

Project MUSE

Provides full-text/image access to articles from more than 150 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics from Johns Hopkins University Press.

ProQuest 
Provides access to three bibliographic and full-text databases.  Discovery is a comprehensive file of periodicals for a broad range of subject areas including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.  National Newspaper Abstracts provides abstracting and indexing for New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal.  Research Library provides coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.  The databases can be search all together or individually.

PsycINFO (1840+)
This American Psychological Association database provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines.  PsycINFO is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.  Nearly all records contain non-evaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally.

PubMed
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes Medline, Oldmedline, as well as the out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain Medline journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for Medline.  Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for Medline indexing.  Some additional life science journals that submit full-text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by the National Library of Medicine.  

(Return to top)

Regional Business News 
Provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications.  Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States,  This database is updated on a daily basis.

SAGE Journals Collection
This comprehensive database includes more than 220 journals, 160,000 plus articles, book reviews, and editorials, with all the original graphics, tables and page numbers.

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, South Dakota
This collection of digital Sanborn fire insurance maps is a valuable historical tool for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about he history, growth and development of South Dakota cities, towns, and neighborhoods.  These maps may present information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors.  The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.  They are available courtesy of the South Dakota State Library.

Science Citation Index (1992+)
A multidisciplinary database of citations and abstracts from journal literature.  It can be used as a conventional author-subject index, or it can be searched by cited author or paper.  It covers an extremely large amount of scientific literature including most scientific disciplines. 

(Return to top)

ScienceDirect Publications
ScienceDirect offers scientific, medical and technical information in the form of peer-reviewed and scholarly journals.  Titles include American Heart Journal, Advances in Environmental Research, Applied Nursing Research, Behaviour Research and Therapy, Journal of Academic Librarianship, and Livestock Production Science to name a selection.

SciFinder Scholar

Provides extensive coverage of the literature of chemistry and the life sciences including biochemistry, biology, pharmacology, medicine, and related disciplines.

(Return to top)

Scitation
Produced by the American Institute of Physics and it indexes articles from journals, magazines, conference proceedings, technical publications, and other publications from scientific societies and technical publishers.  Abstracts, references, and citations are available for all references and PDF or html full-text for many articles from journals to which SDSU subscribes.  References are linked from the abstracts and articles referencing the displayed article can also be searched.

SDNA Newspapers (South Dakota Newspaper Association)
Provides full-text access to articles form many South Dakota newspapers.  Due to contract limitations with SDNA, remote/home access to SDNA Newspapers is NOT possible.  This database is available courtesy of the South Dakota Sate Library.

(Return to top)

SIRS Discoverer

Helps students in grades 1-9 develop their research, writing, language and computer skills.  Students can do research, read stories, learn about important people, places and events, find fun projects to do and much more.  The database includes carefully selected full-text articles and images from more than 1,600 domestic and international newspapers, magazines, online sources and government documents.  SIRS is available courtesy of the South Dakota State Library.

SIRS Knowledge Source
A general reference database containing thousands of full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues.  Articles and graphics are selected from 1,500 domestic and international publications.  SIRS is available courtesy of the South Dakota State Library.

Social Sciences Citation Index (2001+)
A multidisciplinary database of citations and abstracts from journal literature.  It can be used as a conventional author-subject index, or it can be searched by cited author or paper.  It covers an extremely large amount of social sciences literature including most social sciences disciplines. 

Social Services Abstracts (1980+)
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.  The database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

(Return to top)

Sociological Abstracts (1963+)
Abstracts and indexes the internatio
nal literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.  The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.  Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles.

South Dakota Library Network
Lists the holdings of over 40 libraries in South Dakota.  In addition SDLN provides access to the following databases:  Deadwood Historical Index, ERIC, Indian Country Today Index, Sioux Falls Argus Leader Index.

SpringerLink
Provides a collection of journals for researchers in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, economics, and more.

Student Edition  
(Formerly SuperTOM)
Designed for schools to search magazines, newspapers, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, etc.

(Return to top)

Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.

THOMAS The Library of Congress
Provides the public free access to federal legislation information .  The content includes: Bills, Resolutions, Activitin in Congress, Congressional Record, Schedules, Calendars, Committee Information, Presidential Nominiations, Treaties, and Government Resources.

Thomas Register
(Each individual user must register for free unlimited access.)
A directory of companies and the products they manufacture.

TOXLINE
Provides access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and articles, monographs, technical reports, theses, letters, meeting abstracts, papers and reports.  Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, information in the database is drawn from a number of discrete files including Toxicity Bibliography and Developmental and Reproductive  Toxicology.  This version of TOXLINE does not contain information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts; furthermore, it is a "rolling 5-year" database consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year.

UlrichsWeb.com
(The web version of Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.)
Ulrichsweb.com provides information about magazines, journals, newsletters, and other periodical publications.  The entries include the publication name, the frequency of publication, the year the title began publication, the publisher name and address, subscription and ordering information, and more.  Many entries include reviews or tables of contents for several years of publication.

USA.gov
Easy-to-search, free-access website designed to give you a centralized place to find information from U.S. local, state, and federal government agency websites.  Topics include:  Benefits and Grants, Consumer Guides, Defense and International, Environment, Energy, and Agriculture, Family, Home, and Community, Health and Nutrition, History, Arts, and Culture, Jobs and Education, Money and Taxes, Public Safety and Law, Reference and General Government, Science and Technology, Travel and Recreation, and Voting and Elections.

U.S. Census Bureau (U.S. Fact Finder)
Data from Census Bureau sources delivered in the form of maps, tables, and reports.

(Return to top)

ValueLine
(Only available at the Information Desk.)
This investment resource provides detailed information about individual companies and their stocks.

Virtual Technical Reports Center
This free site provides links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds.

Web of Knowledge
Provides a simple search interface for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Medline, and 14 additional databases, including Agricola, Civil Engineering Database, NTIS, and others covering many topics.  However, it does not allow cited reference searching, which must be done in Web of Science.

Web of Science
Provides access to Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index.  It allows very sophisticated searching including cited reference searching.

(Return to top)

WebSPIRS

A web-based SilverPlatter database system that provides access to the following electronic databases:  Biological Abstracts, CAB Abstracts, and Current Contents.

Western Waters Digital Library (WWDL)
(Launched in 2003)
WWDL is a work-in-progress aimed at becoming a comprehensive digital resource about water in the west.  The WWDL is a collaborative regional project, currently offering centralized searching of materials contributed by academic research libraries in five western states.
 
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide 
The world's largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians -- over 527,600 bibliographic records, many include abstracts.  All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered.  Approximately 18,000 records are added per year.  The following databases are included:  Wildlife Review Abstracts (1935 to the present) which is produced by NISC (formerly published by the U.S. National Biological Service), Swiss Wildlife Information Service (1974 to the present) which is produced by the Federal Office of Environments, Forests & Landscape and the University of Zurich, Wildlife Database (1960 to the present) which is produced by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Reference Service, BIODOC (1970-1999) which is produced by the National University of Costa Rica with an emphasis on Central and South American fauna, Waterfowl & Wetlands Bibliography (Duckdata, 1838-2000) which is produced by the U.S. Geological Survey and IUCN--The World Conservation Union (1946 to the present).

Wiley Interscience
The leading international resource for quality content in the scientific, technical and medical fields.  Features content from more than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and The Cochrane Library, which is the world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine.  Journals include:  The Journal of Polymer Science, Angewandte Chemie, European Journal of Immunology, American Journal of Medical Genetics, Cancer, Biotechnology and Bioengineering and more.

world-newspapers.com
This free internet site offers users access to newspapers from around the world.

(Return to top)

WorldCat  Basic | Advanced 
Provides access to over 67,000,000 records for all types of materials, e.g., books, music, videos, software, web pages, etc., cataloged by libraries in the United States and many other countries.  The Basic link leads to Worldcat.org, which is a free version with a simplified search interface.  The Advanced link leads to WorldCat on FirstSearch, a subscription product with more sophisticated search options, but this search requires the user to obtain a username and password (specific for this particular database) from the information desk to enable him/her to log in from off-campus.  Both interfaces provide complete bibliographic information for each item and enable the user to identify libraries that own each item.

(Return to top)

If the links above do not work, click here for possible alternative access to many of the databases.

This is an alphabetical list of electronic information resources (library databases) that are available in Briggs Library.  Use the Research by Topic page for a list databases by subject/discipline. SDSU students, faculty, and staff should click here for information regarding access from off campus. 

Use of the many resources provided by HM Briggs Library is governed by license agreements which restrict use to the SDSU community and individuals who use Briggs Library. It is the user’s responsibility to ensure that they use these products only for individual, non commercial use without systematically downloading, distributing, or retaining substantial portions of information. The use of software such as scripts, agents, or robots, is prohibited and may result in the loss of access to these resources for the entire SDSU community.

 

This page designed by db
 last edited on 4 December 2007 by ch