|
Briggs Library provides access to over one hundred
databases! Some are free, most are not. Choosing a database may be quite
confusing, that is why librarians have created pathfinders to assist you
in your research journey. These are called “Research by Topic Guides”
and are linked from the library home page.
The “Research by Topic Guides” suggest the most
relevant databases for discipline specific research. If for example, you
are interested in an allied health research topic, relevant topic guides
may include the Guide to Nursing Research or the Guide to Pharmacy
Research. Select “Databases” for a list of databases specific to your
topic. Once you choose a database, you will be asked to enter a username
and password. (Call the
Information Desk).
In addition to subject specific databases, there
are a number of multi-disciplinary resources available. Three widely
used full text multi-disciplinary databases are linked under “Quick
Search” on the library home page. EBSCOhost and ProQuest databases allow
you to limit searching to scholarly peer reviewed publications and full
text articles.
Your instructor may also inform you which database
should be used for research in a particular class. If you have any
questions, do not hesitate to contact a reference librarian. Librarians
are more than happy to assist you in selecting and using library
resources.
For the full list of databases, click the “Research
Databases” link on the library’s home page. In addition, there are a
number of linked “Quick Guides” and tutorials to assist you in
effectively and efficiently searching a particular database.
Updated 2 January 2008 by db
|